Saudi Arabia lifts ban on travellers from 11 countries, including UAE and US

Travellers are still required to quarantine upon their arrival in the Kingdom…

Effective tomorrow, May 30, Saudi Arabia will re-allow visitors from 11 countries, following a suspension due to the coronavirus pandemic, the official Saudi Press Agency (SPA) reported today (May 29), citing a Ministry of Interior source.

The complete list of countries allowed to enter the Kingdom includes France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Portugal, Sweden, Switzerland, the United Arab Emirates, the United Kingdom, and the US.

The source reportedly said the decision to lift the travel ban was made based on information provided by the World Health Organization, which showed they could effectively control the spread of the virus.

Travellers arriving from the listed countries are still required to undergo seven days of institutional quarantine at the government-approved accommodation at their own expense.

However, those who provide a certificate to prove that they have received one of the following vaccines are treated as vaccinated and will not have to go through the institutional quarantine procedures.

  • Two doses of Pfizer vaccine;
  • Two doses of AstraZeneca vaccine;
  • Two doses of Moderna vaccine; or
  • One dose of the Johnson & Johnson vaccine.

In February, authorities had banned the entry of travellers from these countries except for Saudi nationals, diplomats, health professionals and their families.

The Kingdom officially lifted its suspension on citizens travelling abroad and opened its land, sea, and air borders on May 17.

On Thursday, Saudi Arabia’s General Entertainment Authority (GEA) also announced the resumption of entertainment activities for vaccinated individuals.

The remaining nine countries that are still on Saudi Arabia’s ban list include Argentina, Brazil, Egypt, India, Indonesia, Lebanon, Pakistan, Turkey, and South Africa.

Image: Unsplash